Meet the 13 Republicans who voted ‘no’ on the tax bill

Meet the 13 Republicans who voted ‘no’ on the tax bill


WASHINGTON — House Republican leaders cheered passing a major tax overhaul Thursday, but 13 Republicans voted bucked their party and voted against the bill.

All but one of the Republicans hailed from New York, New Jersey or California — each a high-tax state. These lawmakers largely opposed the legislation because it eliminated the state and local taxes deduction, or SALT. Six of the lawmakers are in competitive races in 2018 according to races ratings by Roll Call’s Nathan L. Gonzales. Eleven of the 13 Republicans are being targeted by the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee.

Here are the Republicans who voted against the tax bill:

— Dan Donovan, R-N.Y.: Like other New Yorkers, Donovan opposed the bill over repealing the SALT deduction. Donovan was first elected in a 2015 special election and won his first full term by 26 points. Trump won the 11th District by 10 points. Donovan also voted against the GOP health care bill and faces a primary challenge from former GOP Rep, Michael Grimm, who was convicted of tax evasion. Democrats are targeting the seat, which is based in Staten Island, and a crowded field is vying for the Democratic nomination. Gonzales rates the race Likely Republican.

— John Faso, R-N.Y.: Faso also opposed repealing the SALT deduction and said the bill contained too many loopholes. He is the third most vulnerable House member on Roll Call’s list of vulnerable incumbents. Trump won the 19th District but the central New York district voted twice for former President Barack Obama. A crowded Democratic field is vying to take on the first-term congressman, with two contenders outraising Faso in the last fundraising quarter. Gonzales rates the race Tilt Republican.

— Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-N.J.: Frelinghuysen’s position was unknown heading into the final vote, but he opposed the bill. He is a DCCC target in 2018 and is in a race rated Likely Republican. Two Democrats vying to take on Frelinghuysen outraised him by nearly three times in the most recent fundraising quarter. Trump won his district by 1 point in 2016 and Frelinghusyen won re-election to a 12th term by 19 points.

— Darrell Issa, R-Calif.: The most vulnerable incumbent so far, Issa opposed the bill over the SALT repeal and its effect on families. He faced a closer-than-expected re-election last year, winning by just half a point. Hillary Clinton won his district by 8 points. Mitt Romney carried the seat in 2012, while Obama won it in 2008. Gonzales rates the race a Toss-Up.

— Walter Jones, R-N.C.: Jones is one of the few Republicans to reject the bill over concerns about increasing the deficit. He also voted against the GOP health care bill, and has been known to buck party leadership. America First Policies, the pro-Trump outside group, launched a $100,000 cable TV and digital ad urging Jones to support the tax plan. Jones has fended off primary challengers in recent cycles and won re-election to a 12th term by 34 points in 2016. North Carolina district is rated Solid Republican.

— Peter King, R-N.Y.: King also voted no due to the SALT repeal, and he warned passing the tax bill would cause Republicans to lose House seats next year. The 13-term congressman is a new DCCC target though Trump won the 2nd District by 9 points. One of the Democrats hoping to take on King, Tim Gomes, has loaned his campaign $1 million. The race is rated Solid Republican.

— Leonard Lance, R-N.J.: Lance also opposed the SALT repeal. The five-term congressman is a DCCC target next year in a race rated Likely Republican. Clinton won his district by one point in 2016. Lance also opposed the GOP health care bill.

— Frank A. LoBiondo, R-N.J.: A member of the moderate Tuesday Group, LoBiondo opposed the tax bill because of the SALT repeal and said in a statement it would be “detrimental to New Jersey residents.” LoBiondo, who also opposed the GOP health care bill, recently announced he is not running for re-election, making his seat more vulnerable to a Democratic takeover. Trump won his district by nearly 7 points in 2016. The race is rated Leans Republican.

— Tom McClintock, R-Calif.: McClintock, who opposed the elimination of the SALT deduction, is also a new DCCC target. Trump carried the district by 16 points and McClintock won re-election by 24 points. Gonzales rates the race Solid Republican.

— Dana Rohrabacher, R-Calif.: Rohrabacher told Roll Call before the vote that his vote would be determined by how his constituents would fare if the bill became law. He is one of the most vulnerable House members in 2018, in part because of his ties to Russia. He is a top DCCC target. Clinton won his district by two points in 2016 while Rohrabacher won re-election to a 15th term by 17 points. The race is rated Tilt Republican.

— Chris Smith, R-N.J.: Smith was also opposed to eliminating the SALT deduction. Smith, who was first elected in 1980, is in a Solidly Republican New Jersey district. Trump won his district by 15 points in 2016.

— Elise Stefanik, R-N.Y.: She joined her New York GOP colleagues in opposing the bill due to the repeal of the SALT deduction. The two-term congresswoman is head of recruitment for the National Republican Congressional Committee and a DCCC target. Trump won her upstate New York district by 14 points in 2016, and she was re-elected to a second term by 35 points. Gonzales rates her race Solid Republican.

— Lee Zeldin, R-N.Y.: The Long Island congressman also voted against the bill because of the SALT elimination. Zeldin is a DCCC target. Trump won his district by 12 points and Zeldin won re-election by 16 points. The 1st District race is rated Solidly Republican.


-Bridget Bowman (Simone Pathe and Lindsey McPherson contributed to this report.), ©2017 CQ-Roll Call, Inc., All Rights Reserved, Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Support the Will County News when you shop on Amazon